Skip to content

Carbon City Lights on getting 30,000 Youtube Hits and his new CD Release

September 7, 2010

Carbon City Lights

Carbon City Lights releases his debut album “With or Without” today.  He’s already established a devoted fan base garnering over 30,000 hits in just a few months on one of his youtube videos.  Here are his thoughts on his new album, youtube, and beyond.

1.  Your FB bio says you became a solo artist in 2010. What were you doing before that?  What made you decide to make a change? Before Carbon City Lights, I was in a band called Temple of Life with friends from high school. Things were going great until the drummer and the bassist had to move away from Toronto. After that, I decided to continue making music as a solo artist.

2.  What is the meaning behind “Carbon City Lights”? The name Carbon City Lights has a special meaning to me as it symbolizes the brightness of city lights, with the hint of a darker feel (carbon). I feel like this is captured in my music and I like the energy that the name gives me.

3.  You have garnered over 30,000 views on some of your Youtube videos in less than a few months.  When did you start making youtube videos and how many have you made?  Any tips for your fellow songwriters on how you got so much traffic? I’ve been on youtube as Carbon City Lights since May, 2010. I used to be on youtube as Temple of Life for years with little growth and it motivated me to try something different so that i could be heard more. I used all the social networks that I have, such as facebook and twitter to spread the videos. I have uploaded 19 videos on my youtube channel and I plan on continuing to make music and sharing it. As far as increasing traffic on channels, I’ve uploaded cover songs every so often and just continue to push hard through my social networks.

4.  Congratulations on the release of your debut album.  What has been the process of recording your album? Did you find musicians to collaborate with, or are you recording most of the tracks yourself?   The album took around a year to record and I’ve done most of the recordings in my home studio, but a few in a recording studio. I have had some featured musicians join me on a few tracks but overall I played the majority of the music on the album.

5. How long have you been songwriting and how many songs have you written? How did you choose the songs on your debut album?  I’ve been writing songs since I was around 13 years old (Now I’m 25). Since then I’ve kept a steady stream of songs – maybe 70 songs or more. Out of the many songs I’ve written, for this first record, I chose ones that I felt were upbeat and powerful, meaningful to me, and easy listening.

6.  Any advice for other musicians about to embark on recording their debut album? For other musicians recording their first album, I would suggest taking their time to feel satisfied with every recording. After recording a track, give it some time, go back to it, and you will probably have some new ideas and changes to make.

9.  What is the best thing that could happen to you after you release your CD? I’ve put a lot of passion and hard work into this album and I sincerely hope it’s heard by many. Also, I would love to be part of a soundtrack, go on tour, and just overall spread the music.

To hear more of Carbon City Lights’ Music and read his bio, click here:  http://songwriters.ca/member/carboncitylights
Subscribe to his youtube channel:  http://www.youtube.com/user/carboncitylights

Here are some of his Youtube hits:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

